Release Dates:

Making Sense of the Universe

As you can see from the above, there are currently fourteen feature films and five television series (comprising of ten seasons in total) with much more to come in the next few years.  I have not included Marvel's One-Shots or any webcast media in the above but one can see that tying such a complex universe together is not a simple task.  As of Doctor Strange, things are hopefully set to be a little less convoluted for us as I believe most forthcoming films are to be set in the year they are released.  We can only hope!

Before that though, many of the feature films and television series were set much earlier than their respective release dates and made mention of previous events.  Now with so many films and television series set in different times, you can see that piecing all this together for those who wish to either know the chronological order of things, or watch in said order becomes headache inducing.  Thankfully here at the Celluloid Sage (with help from other sites) we have made it simple for you and listed everything in the correct order, should anyone actually be interested.

We have not included any flashback scenes as we personally feel these fit nicely wherever they appear, in whatever media they happen to be in.  Neither have we included specific scenes of only a few minutes long (which relate to a different time period to what you are viewing), I'm sure you're all clever enough to figure out what is going on when those are shown.  Including these also massively overly-complicates things.  It is a complicated universe already so we opted to leave those out entirely.  So, without further ado, below is a comprehensive list of media within the Marvel Cinematic Universe in chronological order for your viewing pleasure.


Chronological Timeline:

1943 Feature Captain America: The First Avenger
1946 TV Series Agent Carter (Season 1)
One-Shot Marvel's One-Shot: Agent Carter
1947 TV Series Agent Carter (Season 2)
2008 Feature Iron Man
2011 Feature Iron Man 2
Feature The Incredible Hulk
One-Shot Marvel One-Shot: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Thor's Hammer
Feature Thor
One-Shot Marvel One-Shot: The Consultant
2012 Feature The Avengers
One-Shot Marvel One-Shot: Item 47
Feature Iron Man 3
2013 One-Shot Marvel One-Shot: All Hail the King
TV Series Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Episodes: S01E01 to S01E07)
Feature Thor: The Dark World
TV Series Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Episodes: S01E08 to S01E16)
Feature Captain America: The Winter Soldier
TV Series Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Episodes: S01E17 to S02E02)
2014 Feature Guardians of the Galaxy
TV Series Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Episode: S02E03)
Feature Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
TV Series Daredevil (Season 1)
2015 TV Series Jessica Jones (Season 1)
TV Series Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Episodes: S02E04 to S02E19)
Feature Avengers: Age of Ultron
TV Series Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Episodes: S02E20 to S02E22)
Webisode WHiH Newsfront: Promo
Webisode WHiH Newsfront: Top Stories
Webisode WHiH Exclusive: 2012 VistaCorp break-in security footage
Webisode WIRED Insider: Interviews Darren Cross
Webisode WHiH Newsfront Exclusive: Scott Lang Interview
TV Series Daredevil (Episodes: S02E01 to S02E06)
Feature Antman
TV Series Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Episodes: S03E01 to S03E08)
TV Series Daredevil (Episodes: S02E07 to S02E13)
TV Series Luke Cage (Season 1)
2016 TV Series Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Episodes: S03E09 to S03E18)
Webisode WHiH Newsfront Special Report: Avengers Impact
Webisode WHiH Newsfront: The Cost of Saving the World
Webisode WHiH Newsfront: The Avengers and the White House
Webisode WHiH Newsfront Exclusive: President Ellis Discusses the Avengers
Webisode WHiH Breaking News: Attack in Lagos
2016 TV Series Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Episode: S03E19)
Feature Captain America: Civil War
2016 TV Series Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Episodes: S03E20 to S03E22)
Webisode New York Bulletin - Joy and Ward Meachum Special Report
TV Series Iron Fist (Season 1)
Webisode Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Slingshot (Episodes 1 to 6)
2017 Feature Doctor Strange
TV Series Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Episodes: S04E01 to S04E22)